Dr. Bridget Murphy


Professional Career

Since 2012   LISA (Liquid/Interface scattering) group leader in the Ruprecht Haensel Laboratory / Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics, CAU Kiel
2010   Visiting scientist at the Brookhaven National Laboratory, NY, USA
2006 - 2012   Assistant to Prof. O. Magnussen, "Habilitandin" / Senior Scientist, Interface Physics, CAU Kiel
2004 - 2006   Scientific and teaching staff (Post Doc), CAU Kiel
2004   Visiting scientist at Institute Laue-Langevin (ILL), Grenoble, France
2000 - 2004   PhD student, Group: Prof. Werner Press, CAU Kiel
1999   Visiting scientist at the European Synchrotron Radiation Source, Grenoble, France
1997 - 2000   Higher Scientific Officer - First Beamline Scientist at beamline 16.3 Daresbury synchrotron radiation source (high resolution diffraction), Daresbury Laboratory, CCLRC, Cheshire, England
1994 - 1997   Scientific Officer - Second Beamline Scientist on the SRS-Beamlines 9.4 (surface X-ray scattering) and 6.3 (X-ray Standing Waves), Synchrotron Radiation Source, Daresbury Laboratory, CCLRC, Cheshire, England



Dr. Bridget Murphy
Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (CAU Kiel)
Ruprecht Haensel Laboratory
Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics
Leibnizstraße 19, 24098 Kiel
Phone. +49 (0) 431 880 5558
E-Mail: Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!
Website: Link


Projects and Positions:

Description Role
A6 - Microstructure and Structural Change of Magnetoelectric and Piezotronic Sensors Project lead


CRC-related Publications

P. Jordt, N. Wolff, S. B. Hrkac, S. Shree, D. Wang, R. J. Harder, C. Kübel, R. Adelung, O. G. Shpyrko, O. M. Magnussen, L. Kienle, B. M. Murphy: Visualizing Intrinsic 3D-Strain Distribution in Gold Coated ZnO Microstructures by Bragg Coherent X-Ray Diffraction Imaging and Transmission Electron Microscopy with Respect to Piezotronic Applications, Advanced Electronic Materials, vol. 7, issue 11, 2100546, 2021.
P. Jordt, S. B. Hrkac, J. Gröttrup, A. Davydok, C. Krywka, N. Wolff, L. Kienle, R. Adelung, O. M. Magnussen, B. M. Murphy: Local Strain Distribution in ZnO Microstructures Visualized with Scanning Nano X-Ray Diffraction and Impact on Electrical Properties, Advanced Engineering Materials, vol. 23, issue 11, 110871, 2021.
N. Wolff, P. Jordt, J. Jetter, H. Vogt, A. Lotnyk, K. Seemann, S. Ulrich, E. Quandt, B. M. Murphy, L. Kienle: Nanostabilization of Tetragonal Distorted FeCo Variants in Ultra-Thin FeCo/TiN Multilayer Films, Materials Characterization, vol. 172, 110871, 2021.
N. Wolff, P. Jordt, T. Braniste, V. Popa, E. Monaico, V. Ursaki, A. Petraru, R. Adelung, B. Murphy, L. Kienle, I. Tiginyanu: Modulation of Electrical Conductivity and Lattice Distortions in Bulk HVPE-Grown GaN, ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology, vol. 8, pp. 141–146, 2019.
S. B. Hrkac, C. T. Koops, M. Abes, C. Krywka, M. Müller, M. Burghammer, M. Sztucki, T. Dane, S. Kaps, Y. K. Mishra, R. Adelung, J. Schmalz, M. Gerken, E. Lage, C. Kirchhof, E. Quandt, O. M. Magnussen, B. M. Murphy: Tunable Strain in Magnetoelectric ZnO Microrod Composite Interfaces, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces, 9 (30), pp. 25571–25577 , 2017.
M. Abes, C. T. Koops, S. B. Hrkac, J. McCord, N. O. Urs, N. Wolff, L. Kienle, W. J. Ren, L. Bouchenoire, B. M. Murphy, O. M. Magnussen: Domain Structure and Reorientation in CoFe2O4, Physical Review B 93 , 195427, 2016.